Alex

Alex

eBook - 2013
Average Rating:
Rate this:
12
2
1
Upon winning the prestigious 2013 Crime Writers Association International Dagger Award, the judges praised Alex by saying, "An original and absorbing ability to leash incredulity in the name of the fictional contract between author and reader ... A police procedural, a thriller against time, a race between hunted and hunter, and a whydunnit, written from multiple points of view that explore several apparently parallel stories which finally meet." Alex Prevost--kidnapped, savagely beaten, suspended from the ceiling of an abandoned warehouse in a tiny wooden cage--is running out of time. Her abductor appears to want only to watch her die. Will hunger, thirst, or the rats get her first? Apart from a shaky eyewitness report of the abduction, Police Commandant Camille Verhoeven has nothing to go on: no suspect, no leads, and no family or friends anxious to find a missing loved one. The diminutive and brilliant detective knows from bitter experience the urgency of finding the missing woman as quickly as possible--but first he must understand more about her. As he uncovers the details of the young woman's singular history, Camille is forced to acknowledge that the person he seeks is no ordinary victim. She is beautiful, yes, but also extremely tough and resourceful. Before long, saving Alex's life will be the least of Commandant Verhoeven's considerable challenges.
Publisher: New York : Quercus, 2013.
ISBN: 9781623650018
1623650011
Characteristics: 1 online resource.
Additional Contributors: Wynne, Frank

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
a
addisonpann
Jun 08, 2019

Really enjoyed this read. I read A Map of the Dark before this, and when I started Alex I was afraid the plot would be basically the same. I was dead wrong. More than once I thought to myself “was that the book’s conclusion? I don’t see how there could be more story left.” Again, wrong. Lots of twists and turns and a killer ending that I found to be very smartly written.

s
shortie101
Mar 04, 2019

Hauntingly beautifully written, character of Alex was mesmerizing. Recommend this highly, ending was such a twist, hope to read more from this author.

j
jnewday
Jun 22, 2017

Brutal violent vengeful. Some scenes will never be erased from my memory they are so ferocious. In the midst of all the suffering lie questions about who is the real victim and where does morality take us when the captive is released.

m
maipenrai
Nov 20, 2016

The first book in the Commandant Camille Verhoeven Trilogy series

n
ndarel
Jul 21, 2016

A very well written book. Enjoyed it immensely. Some plots twist, but this one reverses on its self more than once. Loved it. The person who didn't 'read on' missed a good read.

l
looper46
Dec 08, 2015

OK, y'all--I confess--I did not finish the book---I'm not light-weight; read and enjoyed "Irene", but it did have some disturbing sections.
Maybe I was in a "delicate flower" moment, but I did'nt want to read anymore after the kidnapper dies and Alex is left with the rats. Sorry

l
Lemoncougar
Aug 13, 2015

Alex is one of the most original books that I have ever read.It is extremely suspenseful,original and harrowing.It is beautifully written.I look forward to more books by the author.

ParrenoDude Jan 04, 2015

I read this book in its original French, and must say that I was thrilled with the first 2/3 of the book, but disappointed with the last third. Doesn't mean it's not worth a read, but perhaps it just didn't end the way I was hoping? Give it a whirl.

r
richardtuckerjones
Jan 04, 2015

This is a fantastic book: a terrifying tale of revenge. Every time you think it's over, it is really just getting more interesting. I have to read the prequel when it arrives!

s
stephaniedchase
Jan 14, 2014

Brutal and violent, but also suspenseful. For fans of Nesbo, Steig Larrsson.

View All Comments

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability
akeem7nyc Feb 01, 2014

akeem7nyc thinks this title is suitable for 17 years and over

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at OPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top