Say What You Will

Say What You Will

eBook - 2014
Average Rating:
10
2
Rate this:
John Green's The Fault in Our Stars meets Rainbow Rowell's Eleanor & Park in this beautifully written, incredibly honest, and emotionally poignant novel. Cammie McGovern's insightful young adult debut is a heartfelt and heartbreaking story about how we can all feel lost until we find someone who loves us because of our faults, not in spite of them. Born with cerebral palsy, Amy can't walk without a walker, talk without a voice box, or even fully control her facial expressions. Plagued by obsessive-compulsive disorder, Matthew is consumed with repeated thoughts, neurotic rituals, and crippling fear. Both in desperate need of someone to help them reach out to the world, Amy and Matthew are more alike than either ever realized. When Amy decides to hire student aides to help her in her senior year at Coral Hills High School, these two teens are thrust into each other's lives. As they begin to spend time with each other, what started as a blossoming friendship eventually grows into something neither expected.
Publisher: [S.l.] : HarperTeen, 2014.
ISBN: 0062271121
9780062271129
Characteristics: 1 online resource.

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

Chapel_Hill_KatieJ Mar 06, 2016

High school senior Amy has cerebral palsy, and her parents hire Matthew to be one of her peer helpers to assist her during the school day. Quickly Amy realizes how debilitating Matthew’s OCD is. After their prom, the book takes a somewhat random turn, with Amy acting seemingly uncharacteristically. The last few chapters almost feel like they’re from a different novel. Still, the rest of this book more than makes up for it, with Amy and Matthew’s growing relationship and struggles to explain themselves to each other.

i
IleahK
Aug 29, 2015

The writing style in this got to be a little bit annoying at times. The perspective shifts mid-chapter were a little bit harder to follow, and their were perspective shifts to the character's parents that didn't seem intentional. Because so much of the dialogue occurred through writing, the characters were allowed to self-edit, which actually made the dialogue more realistic than most young adult novels. I thought this was a cute enough story, although it was very predictable. The important thing was not really what happened to the characters so much as how they learned to communicate, but I didn't really buy their growth as characters in the end.

c
cynthia94066
Jan 05, 2015

I agree that there is a John Green aspect to it. The two leads are very smart and well-spoken, even if Amy has to use a computer generated voice.

y
yafictionlover15
Oct 13, 2014

Great book! If you like John Green, this is a good book for you. Please read it!

m
mombrarian
Sep 10, 2014

A beautiful and moving story - you'll laugh, you'll cry and be sorry when you get to the last page. Perfect for John Green and Rainbow Rowell fans

bandblair Aug 13, 2014

Amazing read. The characters are so interesting. I read it in only a few days. For fans of Green and Rowell.

multcolib_susannel Aug 04, 2014

This book is a I can't put down crazy swirl of two people who are trying to figure out how to have a relationship together despite the unpredictability of their bodies and their lives. Is it a friendship? Is it a romance?
Read and find out.

m
Melaniejones
Aug 01, 2014

this was an excellent book it was really a pleasure to read. the characters were very relatable and funny i laugh out loud all the time a really great read , but the themes discussed are a bit heavy so be weary of that .

b
BUNBUN1978
Jul 22, 2014

what a great book. I really cared about the Characters and unlike alot of teen romances it was never sappy or annyoing. that Characters seems like real teens.

n
naguiar
Apr 29, 2014

I really, really enjoyed this book. I was intrigued by the characters of Amy and Matthew in how they saw themselves and each other.Their character development didn't progress as I had hoped, but their relationship throughout the book grew in a way that was realistic and heartfelt. Amy's relationships with Sarah and with Sanjay were also interesting as they grow and change in their perception of Amy and what having cerebral palsy means. I was dissatisfied with the ending, but I thought it did its job in bringing the storyline to an adequate conclusion. This book is brilliantly written and includes a journey with much tears and laughter that one will be unable to put down.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

t
TealSeals
Jun 29, 2015

TealSeals thinks this title is suitable for 11 years and over

y
yafictionlover15
Oct 13, 2014

yafictionlover15 thinks this title is suitable for 13 years and over

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at OPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top