ABCs From Space

ABCs From Space

A Discovered Alphabet

Book - 2017
Average Rating:
Rate this:
5
"An alphabet book of photographs of Earth taken from outer space that look like each letter."-- Provided by publisher.
Publisher: New York :, Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers,, [2017]
Edition: First Edition.
Copyright Date: ©2017
ISBN: 9781481494281
Branch Call Number: J 550 Voi
Characteristics: 1 volume (unpaged) : chiefly colour illustrations ; 26 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
y
Yavin
Jun 03, 2020

A fun alphabet book using satellite imagery. Kids will enjoy it.

This book is beautiful. I used this with a pre-K storytime, and the kids were able to see most of the letters without prompting. Some of them were surprised to find out what types of natural structures could look so much like letters they were familiar with. It's a great way to introduce children to both the wonders of the natural world and how we perceive structure in writing.

VaughanPLKelly Jun 09, 2019

This is a cool book of satellite images of Earth which show formations that look like the alphabet. Great for children who wonder what the Earth looks like from above. it also includes information about where the images are from, a map of the locations, and FAQs about the images and science.

My favourite images are "E" (fjords in Norway), "G" (tropical storm in the Pacific Ocean), "K" (ship tracks near the Kamchatka Peninsula), and "W" (Sea Ice in the Arctic Ocean), but they will all make you look at the Earth (and the alphabet) from a different perspective.

nmaryann Oct 25, 2017

Look at satellite images of earth to find the 26 letters of the alphabet (and learn awesome facts about planet earth)! Perfect for fans of 'The Alphabet From the Sky' by Benedikt Gross.

Ms_Gaye Oct 14, 2017

I like this unique alphabet book not merely for its images but for the information in the back of the book. Each image is identified for location, date, satellite & sensor, and whether it's false-color or natural-color. The glossary and FAQs answer questions readers will have about the information presented. A great nonfiction title for curious minds. Ages 4-7

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at OPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top