Summer Harbor

Summer Harbor

A Novel

Book - 2003
Average Rating:
2
Rate this:
In the tradition of Kristin Hannah and Luanne Rice, Susan Wilson creates a poignant, absorbing novel of first love lost and found again, of family and friendship, and of secrets and ghosts laid to rest. After nearly twenty years, Kiley Harris has returned to the small New England town of Hawke's Cove. As a child, Kiley eagerly anticipated every summer spent at the old family beach house, where she'd be reunited with her two best friends, Grainger Egan and Mack MacKenzie. For years, they were an unshakable trio: sailing and swimming every day, playing cards on the porch at night, and sharing their dreams. But everything changed the summer after their high school graduations, when the boys' friendship turned to rivalry over Kiley -- with tragic results. For nearly two decades, Kiley has been in self-imposed exile from the place she loved so much. But now her parents have asked her to ready the old beach house for sale, to finance her son Will's college education. Losing the family house will mean losing Hawke's Cove forever -- so Kiley brings Will along to give him this connection to the past he's long wished for. Yet she also fears that in Hawke's Cove, Will inevitably will meet Grainger -- who might, unknowingly, be Will's father. And Kiley doesn't know if this is disastrous timing...or the gift of a second chance. Rich in the complexities of love, insightful in the mysteries of the heart, and generous in the forgiveness of human frailties, Summer Harbor is a moving exploration of the pains of the past, uncertainties of the present, and hopes for the future.
Publisher: New York : Atria Books, 2003.
ISBN: 9780743442329
0743442326
0743442334
Branch Call Number: FIC Wilso
Characteristics: 341 pages ; 24 cm.

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

c
CTF2016
Oct 17, 2016

I read this in Oct.

mrsgail5756 Jan 23, 2014

The book was okay – but not one of my favorites.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at OPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top