Some Days You Get the Bear

Some Days You Get the Bear

Large Print - 2007
Average Rating:
Rate this:
Lawrence Block, best-selling author of A Walk Among the Tombstones and A Dance at the Slaughterhouse, now presents his third and finest collection of stories in the tradition of Ray Bradbury and Edgar Allan Poe. Block's characters are special people. Here are a few of the folks you're about to meet: Bernie Rhodenbarr, burglar and bookseller, who's hired by a tabloid to break into Graceland and hunt down the King himself...Martin Ehrengraf, a dapper little lawyer who never loses a case - and never has to go to trial...The Merciful Angel of Death, who turns up at AIDS hospices to visit the sickest of the sick - just before they die...Paul, film critic and man-about-town, who wears a safari jacket and eats in ethnic restaurants and sleeps with a teddy bear...and, in three appearances here, Block's award-winning detective Matthew Scudder. Tales of mistaken identity, ambiguous truth, and twisted justice make Some Days You Get the Bear a complex and fascinating wall of windows on today's world. Alternately terrifying, humorous, and thrilling, these are stories to speed the pulse and chill the blood.
Publisher: Detroit : Thomson Gale, 2007.
Edition: Large print edition
ISBN: 9780786292745
0786292741
Branch Call Number: FIC Block 3701wd 1
Characteristics: 523 pages

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Related Authors

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...
No similar edition of this title was found at OPL.

We did not find this title in the collection. Try searching for Some Days You Get the Bear in the catalogue to ensure that OPL does not own related editions.


Suggest for Purchase

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top